January 24, 2014

Linux Redhat: How to see wich physical card is eth0 or eth1 ?

Posted in Linux tagged , , , , , , at 10:47 am by alessiodini

Yesterday i had to see which physical card was eth0 or eth1 for a suspect fault.
I was looking how to identify the correct card from Linux , it seems this is not an easy task πŸ™‚
I ran lspci , I checked files under /sys , i got a lot of info but I still was not sure of that interface.
Looking on the web I found an interesing option of ethtool command:

ethtool -p eth2 10 ( it let blink eth2 interface for 10 seconds )

It worked for me πŸ™‚
This is the thread: http://magazine.redhat.com/2007/09/05/tip-from-an-rhce-which-interface-is-eth0/

Leave a Reply

