January 31, 2015

Solaris 10: How to upgrade from u3 to u11 and how to migrate UFS root filesystem to ZFS filesystem on x86 platform

Posted in Solaris tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 5:04 pm by alessiodini

In these days I’m doing a lot of upgrade tasks on Solaris hosts.
Solaris upgrade envolves Veritas upgrade too, and it’s funny 🙂

Recently I wrote a procedure where I upgrade a Solaris 10u3 to Solaris 10u11 with Live Upgrade on x86 platform.
At same time I changed the root filesystem, migrating it from UFS to ZFS. It was a good “technology jump” 🙂
The procedure is here. I want to write one more for SPARC platform.
For any question or procedure improvement just let me know ! 🙂

Alessio.

Leave a Reply

