August 9, 2016

Redhat Openstack Kilo: How to backup the Overcloud objects?

Posted in OpenStack at 11:25 am by alessiodini

The last week me and a collegue began to plan an Openstack hardware upgrade ( customer needs to increase compute nodes and ceph storage nodes ).
I immediatelly asked: what about if something goes wrong during the upgrade? Can we backup the overcloud objects? ( I mean routers, networks, subnets, definitions and all other objects )
Ceph side I tested RBD backup and restore procedure, it’s easy. What about overcloud?
Looking in the web I did not found anything, just the Undercloud official backup procedure.
For this purpose I made a SR to Redhat and they said me that there is still not an official overcloud backup procedure!!! They are still writing about it.
This is no good for us, so I began to study something and I think we can achieve this goal with:

1) Python scripts
2) REST APIs

I think the first one should be the best but I still don’t know Python. I know that is very important to learn it and I will soon. But basically now we have low time so I try to study the REST APIs.
Let’s see what will happen 🙂

Leave a Reply

